Erie Hall of Fame
A Page Out of History
In 1963 The Erie Daily Times produced a publication called Growing With Erie Since 1888. The tabloid honored the history of the Erie Times News as it told the history of Erie. The tabloid also predicted what 1988 in Erie would be like.

Click here to read the publication and discover how close to the truth the editor's predictions were.
Heritage News Stories
Erie Hall of Fame: The first 5 inductees

Re-enactors remember Erie hero

Hall of Fame candidates narrowed to 10

Zipper links Earhart to Meadville

Cycling the Road to Freedom

History for Sale
Heritage Partners
Erie Art Museum

Erie County Historical Society

The Pennsylvania Historical and
Museum Commission

Erie County Public Library

Erie Maritime Museum

Erie Yesterday

Blasco Memorial Library

The Erie Hall of Fame is a new community initiative created to foster an appreciation of the world contributions of the people from Erie, Pennsylvania. The Erie Hall of Fame honors an individual's life work, which in one way or another has enhanced the human experience. People nominated to the Erie Hall of Fame represent many career fields, including education, the arts, agriculture, business, military, journalism, literature, the sciences and politics.

Citizens living in the Greater Erie area posted 78 nominations for the Erie Hall of Fame's 2008 inaugural class. The Erie Hall of Fame's Governing Board is currently evaluating the nominations and will announce the first 5 inductees this Spring.

The Erie Hall of Fame also has a living component called the Erie Hall of Fame's Living Hall of Fame. The Living Hall of Fame is a list of names of people who've won a 'person of the year' honor. Honorees will be recognized at a ceremony this summer on Erie's Bayfront. If you, or anyone you know has earned a Person of the Year Award, please tell us about them. Click to send an Email

The Erie Hall of Fame's Living Hall of Fame  

Listed below are the people who have won an Erie area Man, Woman or Person of the Year Award.  We post these name to honor their accomplishments and recognize their hard work.  If you, or anyone you know has received an award of this quality let us know and send it to The Erie Hall of Fame

The American Association of University Women's Honorary Lifetime Member:

Arts Council of Erie: (Business Appreciation Award): On Oct. 16
  • Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield received the Business Appreciation Award

Arts Council of Erie: (Arts Award):
  • Dr. James Barker received the Arts Service Award on October 16

Arts Council of Erie: (Applause Award):
  • Erie County Council & County Executive received the Applause Award on Oct. 16

2008 Athena Award (Athena International):
  • Did not distribute an Athena International Award in 2008. The reason behind this is that they did not have their Leadership Summit present. BUT – in March of this year they will be holding another banquet for the Athena International Award, which will go to Marie Wilson.

Barber Center Employer of the Year Award:
  • Presquile Downs

Barber Center Outstanding Employer:
  • Patrick's Restaurant

Boys & Girls Club of Erie Mighty Mouse Award:

Catholic Diocese of Northwestern Pennsylvania 2008 Teens of the Year:
  • Carley Gilson
  • Daniel Bauer
  • Katie Cianci
  • Jessica Czerwinski
  • Chol John
  • Nicholas Means
  • Rachel Burbules
  • Jamie Power
  • Jesse Lubera
  • Dan Cooney

The Economic Development Corporation of Erie County Employers of the Year:
  • Accu-Right & St. Vincent

Erie Ad Club 2009 Advertising Executive of the Year
  • Skip Papa
Erie County Bar Association (Liberty Bell Award of 2008):
  • Patricia E. Mickel received the Liberty Bell Award in 2008

Erie County Historical Society Local History Awards

  • Caroline Reichel
  • Samuel P. Black
  • Marquette Savings Bank and Engel ONeill Advertising
  • Richard Tefft
  • Louise Smerick
  • Gordon Gebhardt
  • Admiral Charles A. Curtze
  • Mary Stablein
  • Phil Sundin
Erie County Historical Society Local History & Preservation Awards 2008:
  • Thomas Butler
  • George Lyons and Tom Calicchio
  • Dobler Hose Fire Truck Restoration Project

Erie Homes for Children & Adults (Founders Award of 2009):

  • Constance Brereton and Anne Shenk

Erie Yacht Club Thompson's Trophy for 2008:

  • Dock Master: Bill Vogel

Helping Hands Award at the Catholic Charities Ball for 2008:
  • Attorney and Mrs. Norman Stark

2009 Louis J. Tullio Community Service Award

MDA 2008 Diamond Awards:

  • Humanitarian Award: WJET TV's Mike Gallagher
  • Sponsor Award: the Quinn Law Firm
  • Media Excellence Award: Star 104's radio team led by Jessica Curry

Mercy Center for Women 2008 Women Making History Award:
  • Sheila Baldwin
  • Jeanne Bender
  • Dr. Kathleen Benson
  • Angela Bontempo
  • Debbie Burbules
  • Rene Calabrese
  • Shona Eakin
  • Jessica Horan-Kunco
  • Daphne Johnson
  • Sr. Patricia Lupo, OSB
  • Lydia Olshevski
  • Wilma Rahner
  • Spirit of Catherine McAuley Award: Christine Tombaugh

Mercy Center for Women 2009 Women Making History Award:
  • Kathryn Bible
  • Joyce Crishock
  • Barb Ertl
  • Sr. Mary Dolores
  • Jablonski, RSM
  • Cheryl Kobel
  • Judy Lawrence
  • Connie Boone Manus
  • Kelly Mroz
  • Mimi O'Conner
  • Dr. MaryAnn Tempestini
  • Bettie Vincent
  • Linda Wilkinson

The National Center for Ethics in Health Care 2008 William A. Nelson Award:
  • Lowell Kronick

Ophelia Project Volunteer of the Year 2009
  • Debbie Taylor

Pennsylvania Best 50 Women in Business Winner:
  • Misty O'Connor, founder, owner and president, Point Click Learn Inc., McKean

SafeNet's Susan Hirt Hagen Award 2008:
  • Clemont Austin

The Second Harvest Food Bank 2009 Bread Box Awards:
  • WICU 12
  • Giant Eagle
  • Jrs Last Laugh Comedy Club
  • Scooters Lounge, Inc.
  • Wayside Presbyterian Church
  • St. Marks Episcopal Church
  • Mercyhurst College
  • Penn State Erie, the Behrend College
  • Grandview Elementary School
  • Diehl Elementary School
  • Fairview Middle School
  • Northeast Middle School
  • Mercyhurst Preparatory School
  • McDowell Intermediate High School
  • Tom Jennings
  • Ray Kibbe
  • NALC
  • UE Local 506

Women's Roundtable of the Year 2008:

  • Kim Stucke

Young Erie Professionals (YEP) 2009 Generation-E Leadership Award:
  • Alyson Amendola
  • Tony Bruno
  • Rob Celeski
  • Matthew Cummings
  • Jodie Gloekler
  • Kevin John-Jobczynski
  • John C. Lyons
  • Brad Moore
  • Christine Pennsy
  • Joseph Sinnott, Esq.
  • Shelly Walker
  • Beth Zimmer
© 2017 Erie Hall of Fame